Friday, December 17th, 2010

FOX Sports Southwest Celebrates the 75th Anniversary of the AT&T Cotton Bowl Classic with a Television Special!

FOX Sports Southwest celebrates the 75th anniversary of the AT&T Cotton Bowl Classic with a 30-minute television special that will look back at the rich history of one of the country’s premier bowl games.

AT&T Cotton Bowl Classic 75th Anniversary: The History of a Proud Texas Tradition premieres on Sunday, Dec. 19 at 1:00 PM CT with multiple replays scheduled leading up to the celebrated Jan. 7 contest at Cowboys Stadium in Arlington.

Hosted by Emmy-Award winning sportscaster Pat Summerall, the program will bring award-winning author and sportswriter Steve Richardson’s Cotton Bowl 75th Anniversary commemorative book to life by turning the pages into video footage of past Cotton Bowl classics combined with storytelling by some of the game’s biggest names. 

Legendary players, coaches and Cotton Bowl administrators will relive famous plays, remember special moments, and share stories from their Cotton Bowl experiences. 

“FOX Sports Southwest has done a masterful job of condensing 75 years of AT&T Cotton Bowl Classic history and turning it into this very special program,” said Rick Baker, President of the AT&T Cotton Bowl Classic. “It provides a great glimpse into our rich history and tradition while paying tribute to the tremendous players, coaches and administrators that helped make the game a Classic. For the generations of fans that grew up with the AT&T Cotton Bowl, this FSN special is a must see.”

Special guests include Betty Sanford, the widow of Cotton Bowl founder J. Curtis Sanford; longtime Cotton Bowl radio announcer Brad Sham; Cotton Bowl Hall of Famers Troy Aikman, Roger Staubach, and Russell Maryland; Cotton Bowl Chairman Tommy Bain; FOX Sports Media Group Vice Chairman Ed Goren, who helped elevate the Cotton Bowl to a primetime broadcast for the first time ever in 2011; and Dallas Cowboys owner Jerry Jones, who played in the 1965 Classic for the University of Arkansas and is now hosting the event at Cowboys Stadium.  

Fans will be treated to feature stories on some of the Cotton Bowl’s greatest players, including SMU’s Doak Walker, the Classic’s first Heisman Trophy winner who won back-to-back MVP honors in 1948 and 1949; Syracuse All-American running back Jim Brown’s unstoppable performance against TCU in the 1957 Classic; Texas quarterback James Street, whose fourth-quarter 8-yard TD pass to Cotton Speyer to beat Notre Dame in the 1970 Classic is still regarded as the most famous touchdown drive in Cotton Bowl history; and Rice All-American running back Dicky Maegle, known in Cotton Bowl lore for the famous bench tackle in 1954 by Alabama’s Tommy Lewis.

AT&T Cotton Bowl Classic 75th Anniversary: The History of a Proud Texas Tradition  will be available to over 10 million television homes in Texas, Oklahoma, Arkansas and Louisiana on FOX Sports Southwest and FOX Sports Houston.

AT&T Cotton Bowl Classic 75th Anniversary: The History of a Proud Texas Tradition

Program Schedule: 
Sunday            December 19                 1:00 p.m.
Tuesday          December 21                 11:30 p.m.
Sunday            December 26                 10:00 p.m.
Monday           January 3                       2:30 p.m.
Thursday         January 6                       9:00 p.m.
Friday              January 7                       3:00 p.m.