Tuesday, January 1st, 2002

Oklahoma wins 10-3 over Arkansas in 2002 SBC Cotton Bowl Classic

Game Time Conditions: 35 degrees, winds from NW 5-7 mph
Game Captains:
Oklahoma--#3 Josh Norman , #63 Frank Romero
Arkansas--#55 Carlos Hall, #57 Kenny Sandlin, #66 La’Zerius White, #94 Curt Davis.
Attendance: 72,955 was the most since the 1992 (73,728) Cotton Bowl.
Outstanding Offensive Player: Quentin Griffin, University of Oklahoma
Outstanding Defensive Player: Roy Williams, University of Oklahoma
  • Wes Sims made his first start since Oct. 27 vs. Baylor. Andre Woolfolk made his first start since Nov. 3 vs. Tulsa.
  • Dusty Dvoracek and Roy Williams each had two sacks in the first half (accounting for four of the five OU sacks in the first half). Dvoracek’s two sacks were the first of his career.
  • Matt McCoy intercepted Zak Clark in the first half. It was his fourth INT of the season.
  • Quentin Griffin extends his own school record for consecutive games with a reception to 30, marking one for every game of his career. He extended his school record for most receptions in career bowl games to 23. His nine catches ranks him second among Sooners in bowl game receptions behind Jarrail Jackson in the 1999 Sanford Independence Bowl (10).
  • Nate Hybl’s one-yard TD run capped a 13-play, 63-yard drive. It was the only score of the first half and was his fourth rushing TD of the season.
  • With their ninth sack, OU tied their school record for sacks in a game set against Texas Tech in 1997. They also broke their previous bowl record, which was seven against Arkansas in the 1987 Orange Bowl. The nine sacks also match the Cotton Bowl record set by Miami in the 1991 game against Texas.
  • Oklahoma moves to 22-12-1 (.643) in all-time bowl appearances. That is the second-best winning percentage in postseason contests among Big 12 teams behind Oklahoma State (9-4-0, .692). They are 3-1-1 in bowl games played in Texas.
  • The Sooners have won consecutive bowl bouts in back-to-back seasons for the first time since 1985-1986.
  • This is Oklahoma’s 11th season all-time with 11 victories. It is the second consecutive season Bob Stoops has led the Sooners to double-digit wins.
  • Between the 2001 Fed Ex Orange Bowl and the 2002 SBC Cotton Bowl, the Sooners have allowed their opponents only five points total. The three points scored by the Razorbacks ranks as the fifth-fewest points allowed by the Sooners in a bowl game. The last opponent in a postseason contest to score a TD on the Sooners was the University of Mississippi in the second quarter of the 1999 Sanford Independence Bowl.
  • Nate Hybl set a new SBC Cotton Bowl record with 24 pass completions in today’s game. The previous record was held by Navy’s Roger Staubach with 21 (1964) and Brigham Young’s Steve Sarkisian (1997).
  • The 13 passing yards by Arkansas was the fewest ever allowed by OU in a bowl game. The previous record was 33 against Michigan in 1976 Orange Bowl.
  • The 50 yards total offense by the Razorbacks was the lowest total yards allowed in a bowl game by OU. The previous record was 139 by LSU in the 1950 Sugar Bowl. It is also the third fewest yards of total offense in SBC Cotton Bowl history.
  • The 50 yards OU allowed to Arkansas were the fewest since Oklahoma held Oklahoma State to just 31 yards during the 1993 season.
    Toll Free: 888-792-BOWL (2695)
    One AT&T Way, Arlington, TX 76011

    Dallas Morning News
    Copyright 2018. Cotton Bowl Classic. All rights reserved. Design and development by Blythe Spirit Design and Development.