Thursday, April 12th, 2001

Class of 2001 Selected For Southwestern Bell Cotton Bowl Hall of

DALLAS - Seven individuals who helped shape the Cotton Bowl and
college football history will be inducted into the Southwestern Bell Cotton
Bowl Hall of Fame in May.
Southwestern Bell and the Cotton Bowl Athletic Association announced the
Class of 2001 on Thursday. The inductees include Texas tackle Scott
Appleton, Syracuse halfback Ernie Davis, Miami defensive tackle Russell
Maryland, Clemson and Rice coach Jess Neely, Arkansas defensive tackle Loyd
Phillips, Texas split end Charles Cotton Speyrer, and Houston coach Bill
The 2001 Southwestern Bell Cotton Bowl Hall of Fame induction ceremony will
be held at 11 a.m., Tuesday, May 15, at Cotton Bowl Plaza in Fair Park. The
ceremony will be free and open to the public. Russell Maryland, Loyd
Phillips, Cotton Speyrer and Bill Yeoman plan to attend the event. Scott
Appleton, Ernie Davis and Jess Neely will be inducted posthumously.
Appleton is to be represented at the induction by his sister, Tresha
Steffens. Accepting on behalf of Davis will be his mother, Marie Fleming.
Neely will be represented by his great nephew, Tony Neely. Former SMU
tailback, Cotton Bowl Classic participant and current CBS sportscaster Craig
James will serve as the event's master of ceremonies.
Davis was the first African American to win the famed Heisman
Trophy, given each year to college football's outstanding player by the
Downtown Athletic Club of New York City. The Syracuse halfback earned the
award as a senior in 1961.
Three members of the Class of 2001 won the Outland Trophy, presented
annually by the Football Writers Association of America to college
football's finest interior lineman. The three Outland winners are Appleton
(1963), Phillips (1966) and Maryland (1990).
Each of the four players, along with Speyrer, earned All-America recognition
during their collegiate careers. Davis, Neely and Phillips are members of
the National Football Foundation and College Football Hall of Fame. Neely
was inducted in 1971, followed by Davis in 1979 and Phillips in 1992.
Page 2 - The Class of 2001
The Southwestern Bell Cotton Bowl Hall of Fame honors the many
extraordinary individuals who have played a role in developing the
tradition, pageantry and prestige of one of college football's most historic
post-season bowl games, said Fred McClure, chairman, Cotton Bowl Athletic
Association. We believe that the Southwestern Bell Cotton Bowl Hall of Fame
provides future generations with a greater appreciation for the rich
tradition of college football on New Year's Day here in Texas.
A 35-member judging committee comprised of media representatives and
athletic administrators voted from a list of 52 original nominees that
included players, coaches, bowl administrators and others who have made
special contributions to the Classic.
Selection criteria for the Southwestern Bell Cotton Bowl Hall of Fame
include the following:
*Voting is based solely upon an individual's performance in, or
contribution to, the Classic rather than on the person's college or
professional career.
*An individual is eligible five years after his final Classic
The Southwestern Bell Cotton Bowl Hall of Fame provides the perfect
opportunity to properly and permanently recognize these heroes and unique
personalities who helped establish the Classic as one of college football's
premier events, said Stan Sigman, president and CEO of Southwestern Bell.
Over just the past few years, the Southwestern Bell Cotton Bowl Hall of
Fame has become home to a virtual who's who of college football legends.
The Class of 2001 is the fourth to be inducted into the Southwestern
Bell Cotton Bowl Hall of Fame. The inaugural Class of 1998 included Syracuse
halfback Jim Brown, Texas quarterback Bobby Layne, Rice halfback Dicky
Maegle, Texas coach Darrell Royal, Cotton Bowl Founder J. Curtis Sanford,
Mr. Cotton Bowl Field Scovell and SMU halfback Doak Walker.
The Class of 1999 featured TCU quarterback Sammy Baugh, Arkansas
coach Frank Broyles, Kilgore Rangerettes founder Gussie Nell Davis, Houston
linebacker David Hodge, Cotton Bowl team selection chairman Felix McKnight,
and Texas quarterback James Street.
A year ago, the Class of 2000 honored Alabama and Kentucky coach
Paul Bear Bryant, Texas quarterback Duke Carlisle, Texas A&M linebacker
Johnny Holland, Texas A&M fullback John Kimbrough, longtime network
announcer Lindsey Nelson, Navy quarterback Roger Staubach and TCU halfback
Jim Swink.
The Southwestern Bell Cotton Bowl Hall of Fame is one of several
events developed by Southwestern Bell and the Cotton Bowl Athletic
Association to extend the Classic to the community and to future
generations. These activities include the Southwestern Bell Cotton Bowl
Football Fest during the State Fair of Texas, the Southwestern Bell Cotton
Bowl Art Contest involving 6,500 elementary children from Dallas and
Richardson, and the Southwestern Bell Cotton Bowl New Year's Eve Parade and
pep rallies in Fair Park.